Board of Honors Tutors

The following non-departmental researchers have agreed to be listed as potential supervisors for research, PSY 910R, thesis projects.  Click each name for the Tutor's research statement and contact them directly if you would be interested in exploring opportunities to work with them.

Asterisked (*) members are eligible to serve as a Supervisor or Reader on a thesis committee. All members are eligible to serve as a Co-Supervisor without a petition.

Member Name
Research Interest & E-mail
Arthur Barsky, M.D./HMS Cognitive behavior therapy and antidepressants for medical outpatients with health-related anxiety. Contact at abarsky@partners.org.
* Max Bazerman, Ph.D. Behavioral decision research; negotiation; decision aspects of ethics and morality. Contact at mbazerman@hbs.edu.
Courtney Beard, Ph.D. Anxiety disorders, cognitive bias modification, information processing, cognitive behavioral therapy, treatment development and evaluation. Contact at cbeard@mclean.harvard.edu.
James Beck, M.D., Ph.D./HMS TBA. Contact at jbeck1@partners.org.
David Bellinger, Ph.D./HMS TBA. Contact at david.bellinger@childrens.harvard.edu.
Francine Benes, M.D., Ph.D./HMS TBA. Contact at benesf@mclean.harvard.edu.
* Larry Benowitz 
Ph.D./HMS
Neuroscience, rewiring of brain connections after injury, axon growth and axon regeneration. Contact at larry.benowitz@childrens.harvard.edu.
* Andrew Budson, M.D./HMS Memory, Alzheimer's disease, false memories, memory for music. Contact at abudson@bu.edu.
David Caplan, M.D., Ph.D./HMS Language deficits in neurological disease; neurovascular studies of language processing. Contact at dcaplan@partners.org.
* Shelley Carson, Ph.D. Creativity and its relation to psychopathology, intelligence, resiliency. Contact at carson@wjh.harvard.edu.
Verne Caviness, M.D./Ph.D. Adult and child neurology; disability and its relation to the nervous system. Contact at caviness@helix.mgh.harvard.edu.
Amy Cuddy, Ph.D. How people judge and influence one another and themselves.
Jared Curhan, Ph.D. TBA. Contact at curhan@mit.edu.
* Ellsworth Fersch, J.D., Ph.D./HMS Law and psychology; the insanity defense; stigma. Contact at fersch@fas.harvard.edu.
Jeanne Fama, Ph.D./HMS OCD, OCD-related anxiety and perfectionism. Contact at jfama@partners.org.
Nadine Gaab, Ph.D. Reading development, language development, and musical training; autism; ADHD; specific language impairment; FMRI and structural imaging. Contact at nadine.gaab@childrens.harvard.edu.
Francesca Gino, Ph.D. Judgment and decision-making, negotiation, ethics, motivation, productivity, and creativity. Contact at fgino@hbs.edu.
Randy Gollub, M.D./Ph.D. Interface between the technological advancement of neuroimaging acquisition and analysis methods and their application to basic and clinical neuroscience. Contact at rgollub@partners.org.
* Paul Harris, Ph.D./HGSE Early cognitive development, children's selective trust in particular informants. Contact at harrispa@gse.harvard.edu.
* Gene Heyman, Ph.D. Drug use, choice, behavioral economics, and working memory. Contact at gmheyman@mclean.harvard.edu.
David Jimerson, M.D. Eating disorders. Contact at djimerso@caregroup.harvard.edu.
Daniel Kohane, M.D., Ph.D. Drug delivery and biomaterials. Contact at daniel.kohane@childrens.harvard.edu.
Jennifer S. Lerner, Ph.D./HKS Emotion, judgment and decision making, accountability, leadership. Contact at jennifer_lerner@harvard.edu.
Dara Manoach, Ph.D./HMS Cognitive neuorscience; schizophrenia. Contact at dara@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu.
* William Milberg, Ph.D./HMS Alzheimer's disease, amnesia, aphasia and hemi-spatial neglect in regards to veteran population. Contact at wmilberg@hms.harvard.edu.
Julia Minson, Ph.D./HKS Social psycholoy, group judgment and decision-making, negotiations, and social influence. Contact at julia_minson@hks.harvard.edu.
* Charles Nelson, Ph.D./HMS Brain and behavioral development in typically developing infants/children and in development comprised by early adverse experiences. Contact at charles.nelson@childrens.harvard.edu.
* Michael Norton, Ph.D. Behavioral economics; judgment and decision-making. Contact at mnorton@hbs.edu.
Alvaro Pascual-Leone, M.D., Ph.D./HMS Cognitive neuroscience with clinical interventions. Contact at apleone@bidmc.harvard.edu.
Diego A. Pizzagalli, Ph.D. Behavioral, electrophysiological, and neuroimaging approaches to mood disorders and major depression. Contact at dap@mclean.harvard.edu.
* Douglas Powell, Ed.D./HMS Cognitive aging and performance anxiety disorders. Contact at douglas_powell@hms.harvard.edu.
Bruce Rosen, M.D., Ph.D./HMS Biomedical imaging. Contact at bruce@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu.
Martha Shenton, Ph.D./HMS Neuroimaging studies in schizophrenia and schizophrenia related disorders, and post-traumatic stress disorder. Contact at shenton@bwh.harvard.edu.
* Robert Stickgold, Ph.D./HMS Interactions between sleep, memory, and dreams. Contact at rstickgold@hms.harvard.edu.
Josh Tenenbaum, Ph.D./MIT Computational basis of human learning and inference. Contact at jbt@mit.edu.
Robert Waldinger, M.D./HMS Adult development; emotion regulation and intimacy. Contact at rwaldinger@mgh.harvard.edu.
Jeremy Wolfe, Ph.D./HMS Vision and visual attention; cognitive psychology. Contact at wolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu.